Emotional attachment

10 Apr

When I started this blog I could close my eyes and see all the stuff that meant so much to  go flying out my front door. Mostly because it was sitting around collecting dust and no one or myself had no use for it. If you are following this blog, you will see that EXACTLY what I have been doing.

Then I hit a roadblock, although the items are small, I cannot bring myself to get rid of them.

Image

This towel belong to my husband. When we started dating he always had it in his car. So when he moved in it just became another towel that was in closet. When would buy new towels he did not use it, it always stayed folded in the linen closet. A few months ago I washed it and hung it on the towel rack. Once a month a wash it and put it back. I do not use it, it is well over 14 years old, It does not match anything. But I cannot get rid of it.

IMG_20130406_095617As I spoke in my last post, these are his work sneakers. He often put them behind the door in the garage, or where they are now. When I was cleaning the garage I looked at them and said I was throwing them away. I ended up sweeping up the area and putting them back there. It is the only pair of shoes there, and as a follower of this blog told me ” it is not clutter” So they stay.

But by far the one thing I cannot throw away is this

IMG_20130406_095451

This a a chocolate shake from a fast food place. My husband loved these things; He would get two of them whenever we  went there to eat. One afternoon during his illness I went to get takeout from this place and brought him back one. He ate half his sandwich, hardly no fries and none of his shake. It sat on the table sweating for about an hour, then he asked me to put it in the freezer “I will eat it later”; He never did ask for it. I think he may have forgot, or he just did not want it. Either way it has been sitting in the door of my freezer for two years. It was then when it hit me that he was going down, it was just a matter of time before he would be gone. I have cleaned my freezer countless times; every time I try to throw it in the trash I cannot do it. I guess it gives me comfort to see it sitting there. So like the other two things, it will stay in my freezer till I can just toss it.

I will admit I would say to my self when I see a show like “Hoarders”, I am yelling at the television THROW IT AWAY!! and my nutty self cannot dispose of three things. I have created a sort of shrine of them.

I have no clue what to do…. I can take pictures, but it is not the same… Work in progress…

8 Responses to “Emotional attachment”

  1. Amanda (Tshirts & Twine) April 10, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

    Don’t beat yourself up for not being able to move on from these things. Sentiment is hard enough to deal with when downsizing, but attachment to a lost loved one’s belongings is exponentially difficult. I think it’s totally okay for you to take as much time as you need to gently pull away, rather than trying to get rid of these things cold-turkey.

  2. minimalistbride April 10, 2013 at 11:20 pm #

    Things are so much harder to let go of when they hold a story.

    • just lynne April 13, 2013 at 12:57 am #

      I know… It really makes me sad.

  3. Knapsack Heart April 11, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

    Stuff is just that…stuff. But you’re holding on to a lot more than just stuff and recovering from such a loss takes time. Just take one day at a time and remember that you will always hold your husband deep in your heart and that’s something no one or anything can ever take from you!

  4. just lynne April 11, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    Thank you everyone…

  5. journeytominimalism April 12, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

    These kind of things take time. It looks like you are making a lot of progress on other areas – these things can wait until you are ready – sometimes you can’t push yourself on certain items.

    • just lynne April 12, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

      Thank You… It feels so go to know I am not crazy!!!

  6. Fiona April 15, 2013 at 5:50 pm #

    It’s normal to want to hold onto some things like this after a major emotional event. One day you may notice that seeing these items makes you feel sad or heavy, rather than reminding you of the nice wonderful memories. That day you will be closer to deciding if its clutter or not.

    If when you look at it, if it brings you warmth or happiness or a gentle normal connection with your husband, it couldn’t be considered clutter,xxx

Leave a Reply

