What inspires me.

8 Apr

According to Websters

Definition of MINIMALISM

  A style or technique (as in music, literature, or design) that is characterized by extreme spareness and simplicity.
        When I was a kid I used to dream of living in loft in lower Manhattan. I would have floor to ceiling windows, that let all the light in. No curtains or blinds just wide open. The whole area would stark empty besides a few pieces of mid century furniture and my king sized platform bed. The only table would be the kitchen bar. The echo of the room will only be louder when I played music while I ate take out. There were no walls besides for the bathroom and of course closets because I needed something to hold the many clothes I would buy with my high paying job.
         If you really think about it I have always been a minimalist, Yes it may have been a young girls fantasy, But it IS what I wanted. As an 40 something adult I still crave this space. But now I am living in a reality that I cannot afford a loft unless I rented and even then I not even I am not sure. So I make due in the space I have. I cannot have stark but I can have something real close to it.
MINIMALISM ( according to me)- A life lived simple, and living only on what I need. Filling my closets with clothes will not make me feel better, but living a life free of trying to keep up trends will. Not being wasteful, but keeping in mind what I put in the world will come back and hunt me one day. My home will represent my life style with less is more tone all through it. Keeping it wide and open as I can without sleeping on the floor.
What minimalism does not mean to me- Only having a handful or bag full of clothing. Counting down my things to get to that number. For me this type of life is not practical for me.  I still use these practices to reach my goal, they are helpful and encouraging.
 A few weeks back this question showed up on my news feed  on facebook, If you could take 5 things with you before a fire what will it be? Well here are mines

1- My wedding rings

2- My oldest son’s baby blanket

3- My daughter’s babybook

4- The dog (although knowing him he would already be outside)

5- Disk of pictures.

That is it;  All the rest of the stuff could burn, it is all replaceable.  This question helped put my life in a different light.  That “things” are just that.

This is when things ended up in a “Donate” and “Throw away pile” I started to realize what was really important in my life.

This process started with me de cluttering. Then I gave stuff away, Threw away more.  Notice I did not use the word “organize”. I did not want to make the clutter pretty, I wanted to be rid of it. I did this over and over till I was happy with my result. I celebrated my victory. Then I moved to another room.  If you have been reading my blog then you know how far I have come, If you are just reading this post I encourage you to read my blog.

I have come a long way, and still some to go.

Till another day!

2 Responses to “What inspires me.”

  1. journeytominimalism April 8, 2013 at 11:19 pm #

    I understand what you mean! I’ve started realizing too that I have always had minimalist tendencies. And you are spot on with that “organize” word…. I have used that word too much in the past and ended up realizing one day that by “organizing” I was just moving around my clutter.

    • just lynne April 13, 2013 at 12:59 am #

      Thanks for stopping buy… It is really hard not to organize the clutter. But in the long run it looks so much better.

Leave a Reply

